Is a Pell grant offer via email from american grant@pspquest.com legitimate? There wasn't anything on our FAFSA response which indicated any of our kids qualified. I have received two emails from them in the last few days.
ANSWER:
I think you can safely assume that this email is spam. If your EFC was within the possible range for a Pell grant, it would have been indicated on the confirmation page of your FAFSA application, and also on the Student Aid Report (SAR) which you would have received after the FAFSA was processed.
And even then, the wording would have said that you might qualify for a Pell grant of up to "-". A Pell grant also depends on what the student's cost of attendance is.
There are several possible motives behind these emails. It is possible that if you clicked on their link you would be redirected to a malware and phishing site, or best case, that you would be directed to fill out a form in which you agree to be contacted by online schools giving you information about their programs. In any case, these schools cannot magically qualify you for a Pell grant, if your income does not.